Diocese of Portsmouth

United Kingdom


Serving the Diocese of Portsmouth

Established in 1882, the Diocese of Portsmouth has enjoyed long sustained growth and today serves the spiritual and pastoral needs of 190,000 Catholics. Stretching from Oxfordshire in the North down to the Channel Islands in the South, the diocese is organized into 24 Pastoral Areas consisting of 95 parishes and guided by the Most Reverend Bishop Crispian Hollis. In 2007 and after broad consultation, a new pastoral plan was developed to further encourage the Catholic faith. As part of the pastoral plan and to nurture future growth, the Diocese embarked on the Living Our Faith campaign to address pressing needs. The campaign raised over £13.3 million on a goal of £9 million to fund the care and support of priests, encourage vocations, educate seminarians, strengthen the ongoing formation of laity, provide funding for future capital projects, and most significantly to assist parishes at the local level with capital needs.